|
"Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
Last post 05-08-2008, 4:05 PM by Adam. 20 replies.
-
04-21-2008, 4:52 PM |
-
gcaprio
-
-
-
Joined on 04-21-2008
-
-
Posts 7
-
-
|
"Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
Hi,
I'm working on integrating AJAXUploader into my application. So far, everything works fine in FireFox. However, when I load my site up in IE, I get the following JavaScript error:
Line: 2
Char: 12118
Error: Invalid argument.
Code: 0
I checked out the JS for AJAXUploader and that char location is :
document[OxO543d[0x6b]].insertBefore(Ox25,Oxb.form) ;
I'm running on Windows XP w/ IIS 5.1. The sample, simple-upload.aspx works fine in IE & FF, so I'm sure it's some other JS include in my app. However, I've commented out all of my other JS for that page and I still get the error. Anyone have an idea?
Thanks,
Griffin
|
|
-
04-21-2008, 9:37 PM |
-
04-22-2008, 9:34 AM |
-
gcaprio
-
-
-
Joined on 04-21-2008
-
-
Posts 7
-
-
|
Re: "Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
Adam,
That code works fine in IE & FF. The sample-upload.aspx also works fine too. I think the problem has something to do with some other part of my app, but I'm not sure how to debug it because the js code seems obscufated. I've tried commenting out all of my other JS includes, but it still happens.
Any ideas?
Griffin
|
|
-
04-22-2008, 9:40 AM |
-
04-22-2008, 10:00 AM |
-
gcaprio
-
-
-
Joined on 04-21-2008
-
-
Posts 7
-
-
|
Re: "Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
Adam,
Tried the new dlls. Still bombs out:
Line: 2
Char: 12771
Error: Invalid Argument
Code: 0
This is the line in the AJAXUploader js that bombs:
document[OxO3875[0x6d]].insertBefore(Ox25,Oxb.form) ;
Griffin
|
|
-
04-22-2008, 10:25 AM |
-
04-23-2008, 6:41 PM |
-
gcaprio
-
-
-
Joined on 04-21-2008
-
-
Posts 7
-
-
|
Re: "Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
Adam,
Actually I just thought of something. Would having the AJAXUploader control inside of a MasterPage <asp:Content> tag break anything? I know ASP.NET renames controls when they're inside MasterPages.
|
|
-
04-23-2008, 7:39 PM |
-
04-29-2008, 9:17 AM |
-
cullenrc
-
-
-
Joined on 04-29-2008
-
-
Posts 7
-
-
|
Re: "Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
I'm getting this same error.
I've tried downloading the new dll but it still gives me the js error in IE: Line 2, Char: 12235, Error: Invalid Argument.
My uploader is inside a Master Page, Ajax Update Panel and Wizard control.
Works fine in FF but get this js error in IE.
|
|
-
04-29-2008, 9:27 AM |
-
05-02-2008, 11:22 AM |
-
phillybob
-
-
-
Joined on 05-02-2008
-
-
Posts 2
-
-
|
Re: "Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
We were looking at this and also get the error in IE. We're running in a master page with our update panel hosted inside the Content. We also tried downloading the new dll with no success. Any updates?
|
|
-
05-02-2008, 2:03 PM |
-
05-02-2008, 3:45 PM |
-
phillybob
-
-
-
Joined on 05-02-2008
-
-
Posts 2
-
-
|
Re: "Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
Thanks - the samples work locally just fine.
I'll try to get a repro - it may take a while. The app we're integrating into is pretty large and trying to isolate
a repro might take some time.
As a note, the only significant difference I can come up with between the sample and our app
is that the sample update panel wraps the content placeholder, while our update panel and
upload control exist within the content tag for one of the place holders in our layout.
thanks,
phil
|
|
-
05-06-2008, 4:56 AM |
-
cullenrc
-
-
-
Joined on 04-29-2008
-
-
Posts 7
-
-
|
Re: "Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
I think you're on to something there as I've just managed to "break" the sample "Framework 2.0-Csharp-MicrosoftAjax/multiple-files-upload.aspx"
If you move the server Form, Script Manager and Update Panel tags from the Master page and place them directly into the content of page multiple-files-upload.aspx, you get the error message that we are all experiencing.
|
|
-
05-06-2008, 10:17 AM |
-
05-06-2008, 2:09 PM |
-
cullenrc
-
-
-
Joined on 04-29-2008
-
-
Posts 7
-
-
|
Re: "Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
I have sent a simple sample project showing this issue.
|
|
-
05-07-2008, 4:59 PM |
-
05-08-2008, 6:13 AM |
-
cullenrc
-
-
-
Joined on 04-29-2008
-
-
Posts 7
-
-
|
Re: "Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
That "solution" may work for your basic sample projects but it still does not work for our real life project.
In any case I don't think this would be a viable solution - what if people don't want a server form to be included on every single content page in their system?
The real question is why does it work perfectly in Firefox but error in IE?
|
|
-
05-08-2008, 6:48 AM |
-
cullenrc
-
-
-
Joined on 04-29-2008
-
-
Posts 7
-
-
|
Re: "Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
I think I may have isolated what is causing the error.
If you wrap the server form tag in a <div> it causes the error. For example this simple page caues the error:
<% @ Page Language="C#" %>
<! DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
< html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
< head runat="server">
<title>Untitled Page</title>
</ head>
< body>
<div>
<form id="form1" runat="server">
<CuteWebUI:UploadAttachments InsertText="Upload Multiple files Now" runat="server" ID="Attachments1" />
</form>
</div>
</ body>
</ html>
|
|
-
05-08-2008, 8:44 AM |
-
cutechat
-
-
-
Joined on 07-22-2004
-
-
Posts 2,332
-
-
|
Re: "Invalid Argument" in IE, but not in FF.
Hi,
That's it!
Our code is:
document.body.insertBefore(newnode,form)
but the form is not the direct child of the body.
That would throw the error.
thanks.
Regards , Terry .
|
|
Page 1 of 2 (21 items)
1
|
|
|